History of Democritus University of Thrace

Democritus University of Thrace was founded in 1973 and it is one of the newest Universities of Greece. Today, just 36 years after its foundation, includes 20 Departments and it is ranked among the three largest Universities of the country. The administrative headquarters are in Komotini while educational and research activities are developed in four cities of Thrace (Komotini, Xanthi, Alexandroupolis and Orestiada). The academic goal of the University is to establish contemporary directions in selected fields of science, in terms of social utility of the provided knowledge and correspond to the needs of the labor market, to develop the research and technology both in basic and applied scientific areas. The main feature of the department is to develop new knowledge in directions dictated by the evolution of the Greek, European and World economy.